“SEO Title Tag” – in search of tagging, “meta” and not (part 8)

While looking to implement META tags, search keywords, content taggin and such for a commercial site I went through virtually everything I could get my hands on. This is part eight (of many) of my findings. Feel free to argue.

SEO Title Tag – focuses on optimizing page title for the search engines. Based on the assumption that you care more about your SEO ranking than about consistency between the title on the page and the title on the title bar. Once you free your mind this plug-in helps.

  • can redefine home page title
  • can drop the blog name or replace it with something shorter
  • uses category DESCRIPTION (if defined) in the title of the category pages
  • allows to overwrite page or post title via the use of a custom field. Now THIS one rings a bell. I thought all of these features overly extravagant, but I can think of a bunch of pages that today have SAME titles because they just happen to be in similar spots within different branches of page hierarchy (got a dozen pages titled “System Requirements”)… Now THAT makes it worth trying for me.
  • BAD? it swaps the title with the blog name claiming “improved prominence”. You do NOT a chance to choose whether you want it or not! You cannot switch it off in the configuration. I am dismayed. Oh, well, that’s what open source is about – got to get my hands dirty. The whole swap seemed like a really bad idea of questionable value until I noticed that Lorelle uses it… and she really knows her stuff.
About this entry