I am moving to a Mac

It’s official: I am moving my life to Macintosh. The time for The Big Leap has come.

I knew it was inevitable when more and more of my very self-reliant computer-savvy  friends (true masters of their windows) made the jump and told me that it was totally worth it. And still i resisted.

Ok, I was lazy, and I knew that no matter how user-friendly Mac is, it will take time and effort to get it just the way I like it.

And then I had an epiphany. Of sorts.

I was sitting is a business meeting with a bunch of incredibly bright people and someone suggested that I  write some Visual Basic code. Totally innocuous. Nothing wrong with it. At all.

Except that I had to excuse myself, run to the restroom, and puke my breakfast out.

Now, I can be dumb, and stubborn, and “excessively pig-headed” at times. But I can take a hint.

There is nothing wrong with Visual Basic per se. Or with Windows. Ok, that’s a bit of an overstatement, especially in light of the “Professional Downgrade” option at the local Sony Store:

Professional Downgrade by Sony

Seems going to the next version of the OS is not the brightest idea of them all. Oops.

Well, when your body develops an allergy to a piece of technology, there are only two options:

  • give all your hard-earned money to a shrink, or
  • stop “poking at the fire”. At least for a while.

Guess which one I chose.

A shiny new Mac Pro turned to be one of the best birthday gifts I’ve given myself over the years.

It will take some work to master it, so stay tuned: my notes will appear here. Maybe they will even help you.

P.S. As I search for the software that’s Right for Me™ I put my notes in the blog:

Notepad and ToDo Widgets for Mac Dashboard

Mac Image Viewers: looking for an IrfanView clone

Mac ToDo Apps: Things, iGTD, Midnight Inbox, Merlin, What ToDo, iTaskx, OmniPlan, OmniFocus, kinkless GTD

Solving Mac Information Management: Yojimbo, Journler, Together, VoodooPad, EagleFiler, WikityWidget, Punakea, Leap

About this entry